

Canadian Association of Government Finance Officers (CAGFO) Annual General Meeting

October 1, 2021 11:15am EST
Virtual: Zoom
AGM Minutes

1. Welcome and Call to Order

K. Lemoine welcomed all members and called the meeting to order.

1.1. Appointment of Scrutineer

K. Lemoine appointed Anne Stacey from the CAGFO office as the Scrutineer for today's meeting.

1.2. Confirmation of Quorum

A. Stacey confirmed that 92 members signed in as attending at 11:16am EST, satisfying the quorum requirement of the lesser of 25 members or 5% of members.

1.3. Motions and Voting Process

The raised hand function will be used to move and second motions. The first hand raised will be announced as the Mover. The Second hand raised will be announced as the Seconder. Voting will be conducted by polls.

2. Approval of minutes from the 2020 CAGFO AGM held virtually on September 16, 2020 Moved by S. Cunningham, seconded by T. Pinn, **THAT** the reading of the minutes of the 2020 CAGFO AGM held on September 16, 2020 be dispensed with and the minutes be approved as presented.

Discussion: None

CARRIED.

3. President's Report

K. Lemoine provided an annual update and discussed CAGFO accomplishments over the last year.

4. Treasurer's Report

J. Turnbull reviewed the 2020-2021 financial statements and thanked KPMG for undertaking the review engagement and providing video comments.

5. Appointment of the Financial Statement Reviewer for the fiscal year ending June 30,2022 Moved by C. Harder, seconded by B. Audoux, **THAT** the appointment of KPMG as the Reviewer for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022 at a rate to be determined and approved by the Board of Directors.

Discussion: None

CARRIED.



Canadian Association of Government Finance Officers

6. Approval of Bylaws

The first vote is that of a Special Resolution which is a resolution passed by a majority of not less than two thirds of the votes cast (of members present) and is required when there is a By Law change deemed Fundamental. In this case the change is related to Conditions of Membership removing the Western provinces references to nationwide. The vote is to accept the change to:

- By Law 3 deleting the Western Provinces makeup of members;
- By Law 4 allowing the board to delegate approval of new members to a delegate such as the Executive Director (for speed, as currently membership is approved at board meetings which are generally every two months)
- By Law 7 here there are no wording changes, except making d) and e) into separate bullets;
- By Law 10 which adds the Code of Ethics that CAGFO, as an organization, adopted from GFOA in January 2020; and finally
- By Law 69 previously By Law 58) which changes the distribution of assets on dissolution from Western Provinces related associations to Canada wide related associations.

Discussion: None

VOTE: 97 affirmative (current attendance at 142) to pass the Special Resolution; 0 negative **PASSED**

The second vote will also be handled as a Special Resolution. These changes are not considered Fundamental and each on their own can be passed with an Ordinary Resolution which means a resolution passed by a majority of the votes cast on that resolution (of members present). This vote is to repeal the old By Laws and replace as a whole with all of the proposed By Law changes. These changes along with explanation has been provided to membership.

Discussion: None

VOTE: 98 affirmative (current attendance at 142); 0 negative

PASSED

7. Election of the Board of Directors

The following list of proposed directors' names have been vetted and approved by the board to come to the membership for consideration. These include current board members who have agreed to stay on another year and we thank them in advance.

- K. Lemoine made the first call for nominations from the floor.
- K. Lemoine made the second call for nominations from the floor.
- K. Lemoine made the third call for nominations from the floor.

Wes Anderson	Ontario
Jamie Black	Ontario
Karen Grommada	British Columbia



Canadian Association of Government Finance Officers

Ed Kaemingh	Alberta
Noreen Kassam	British Columbia
Lorrie Schmalenberg	Saskatchewan
Erin Stephen	Alberta
Jason Turnbull	Saskatchewan
Elana Wentzell	Nova Scotia
Paul Wills	Nova Scotia
Tanis Yanchishyn	Manitoba

Moved by J. Black, seconded by P. Wills, **THAT** the 2021-22 Slate of Officers for the Canadian Association of Government Finance Officers (CAGFO) be approved as presented.

Discussion: None

CARRIED.

8. Other Business

N. Kassam and P. Bruin presented Sam Weller with the 2021 Lifetime Member Award.

9. Meeting Termination

MOVED by S. Freitas, seconded by B. Klimek, **THAT** the meeting be adjourned. **CARRIED**.

President	-	Treasurer