The Canadian Association of Government Finance Officers (CAGFO), formerly the Government Finance Officers Association of Western Canada (WCGFOA), is one of the oldest organizations representing government finance officers in Canada. It has been operating since the 1970′s. We are a professional association representing Government Finance Officers and our members represent over 1,000 local governments across Canada.

CAGFO’s mission is to promote excellence in government finance and our strategic plan to focus on regional and national issues while broadening our appeal across the country. We produce a major annual conference for local and provincial government finance officers in Canada to assist in their training and development. We also provide networking opportunities and the chance for our members to view new products and services. View the Vision and Mandate of CAGFO


Relationship to the GFOA Family

We see ourselves as a part of the “GFOA family” which comes under the umbrella of the GFOA of the US and Canada and includes the GFOA of BC, the GFOA of Alberta, the MFOA in Ontario, and the GFOA of Saskatchewan. For more information on GFOA organizations, we have prepared this explanation; GFOA Organizations


Annual General Meetings

Our annual meetings are held in conjunction with our annual conference.

2021 – (virtual) October 1, 2021 as part of the 2021 CAGFO National Conference.

1. Approval of Agenda

2. Approval of 2020 CAGFO AGM Minutes (September 16, 2020)

3. President’s Report

4. Treasurer’s & Auditor’s Report

  • Approval of Financial Statements
  • Appointment of Auditor

5. Approval of Bylaws (review current bylaws here)

6. Election of the Board of Directors

7. Adjournment


2020 – (virtual) September 16, 2020 as part of the 2020 CAGFO National Conference.

Please click here for 2019 AGM Minutes.

2019  –  AGM will be held in Vancouver BC at the National Conference.

Please click here for draft agenda

2018 –  AGM was held in Winnipeg on Friday September 14th at 9:30am.  View  the 2018 AGM Minutes